After Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan and Monaco, Taiwan participates in youth mobility scheme

After Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan and Monaco, its Taiwan

From 1 January 2012, Taiwan will join the list of countries and territories that participate in the UK’s youth mobility scheme, under Tier 5 of the points-based system.



The scheme is for young people from participating countries and territories who want to come and experience life in the UK.

Every year, the UK government allocates a number of places on the youth mobility scheme for each country and territory.

For 2012, Taiwan, Japan and Monaco will each receive an allocation of 1,000 places. This is in line with the number of places offered to UK nationals on their reciprocal schemes.

Australia, Canada and New Zealand’s allocations will match the number of UK nationals who were issued visas on their reciprocal schemes in the previous year:

Australia has 32,500 places, Canada 5,000 places and New Zealand 10,000 places

The UK Border Agency said the Immigration Rules will be amended on 1 January 2012 to reflect the addition of Taiwan to the scheme. A statement of changes to the Immigration Rules (HC 1693) was laid before Parliament on 8 December.



England’s national soccer team captain John Terry accused of racial slur in an October match

EU ruling says asylum seekers must not be returned to countries where their rights are violated