Online payment mandatory for UK visa applicants in several African countries

All applications for a UK visa made in 15 African countries must be paid online from 27th January 2014, UK Visas & Immigration has said.

Online payment will become mandatory in: Benin; Burkina Faso; Cameroon; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Equatorial Guinea; Gabon; The Gambia; Ghana; Guinea Bissau; Ivory Coast; Liberia; Niger; and Senegal.

From 27th January 2014, all applicants will need to pay in US Dollars using Visa or MasterCard debit or credit cards or Skrill. Other methods of payment will not be accepted.

Applicants are encouraged to ensure they have sufficient funds available before applying.

After applying and paying their visas online, applicants will still need to visit the visa application centre (VAC) to submit their documents and biometric information (fingerprints and digital photograph).

Appointments to attend the VAC should be booked online while completing the online application form.

Housing benefit ban for jobless migrants “electoral gimmick”, says UKIP

Lords Select Committee investigating effects of immigration rules on UK’s universities