Online payment now mandatory for UK visa applicants in several countries

UK Visas & Immigration has made it mandatory for UK visa applicants from more than 20 countries to pay for their visa online, as part of the online application process.

Applicants from the following countries must now pay for their UK visa online: Angola, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, China, East Timor, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kosovo, Lebanon, Malawi, Mauritania, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestinian Occupied Territories, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Sao Tome & Principe, Sri Lanka, Tunisia, Thailand, Western Sahara, Vietnam, and Zambia.

UK Visas & Immigration said they were modernising the visa system and moving all applications and payments online, to provide a more streamlined service, and offer a safer system for both customers and staff.

The online payment for visas has already been launched in more than 90 countries. UK Visas & Immigration said by the end of 2014 almost all their overseas customers will apply and pay for their visas online.

For more information about which methods of payment UK Visas & Immigration accepts, visit the relevant country pages from the UK Visas & Immigration’s website.

Malala Yousafzai tops GG2 Power List 101 honouring outstanding British Asians

Why you should seek travel health advice before travelling abroad