in ,

UK expands Registered Traveller service to 15 new countries


UK has expanded the Registered Traveller service to 40 countries to enable business travellers and frequent visitors faster entry to the country.

AirportFrequent travellers to the UK from 15 new countries are now eligible to apply for membership of the service, which according to the Home Office, brings the potential for improved trade and tourism links.

The new countries to be covered by the service are Andorra, Bahamas, Botswana, Holy See (Vatican City), Macao, Maldives, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga and Trinidad & Tobago.

Countries such as the United States, Australia, Canada and Japan have been already benefiting from the service.

The service – which had previously only been open to adults – was last month expanded to the 0 to 17 year old dependants of members, which enables families to access the benefits of the service in order to travel more easily together.

Immigration Minister Brandon Lewis said: “Registered Traveller is one of the many ways in which the government is making it easier for businesses across the world to do business with the UK. With over 81,000 members signed up to the service already, I look forward to watching the service grow in the future.”

Registered Traveller allows approved members, who have undergone advanced security checks, faster entry at the UK border through access to the ePassport gates (if they hold an ePassport) or the UK/EU passport lane.

To be eligible to apply, passengers must hold an eligible passport and have a visa or have visited the UK at least 4 times in the past 2 years.

Click here for more information about the Registered Traveller and application forms.


Petition urges UK government to grant leave to undocumented Zimbabweans

Sadiq Khan urges government to adopt “qualified” freedom of movement after Brexit