Common travel area to be preserved by UK, Irish governments

The UK and Irish governments have signed an agreement to preserve the Common Travel Area to check illegal immigration.




As per the Home Office release the Common Travel Area is a passport-free zone that comprises Ireland, Great Britain, the Isle of Man and the Channel Irelands and can be crossed by Irish and British citizens with only minimal identity documents.

According to a PTI report in The Times of India, the agreement outlines, work being taken on by both countries, while protecting its long-established benefits of trade and tourism.

Immigration Minister Damian Green said “This agreement will help us quickly refuse those with poor immigration records, identify asylum shoppers and speed up the removal process in those cases where people have entered the Common Travel Area.”

He added: “The benefits the Common Travel Area brings to travellers and the economies of our countries are well-established but it should not be exploited by those with no right to be here.”

The meeting also included a commitment to the exchange of information, such as fingerprint biometrics and biographical details, particularly from ‘high risk’ countries, as part of the visa issuing process.

Close co-operation between the two countries has this year revealed that of 1,516 failed asylum claims made in Ireland, nearly 500 have been identified as being known to the  UK Border Agency.


Music by artists from countries as diverse as Mali, India, Iraq & Georgia now on CDs

Up to £74m spent during 5 yrs on voluntary return scheme for failed asylum seekers