Record number of BME MPs in Parliament

The Election results are in and many have been surprised by both the exit poll and the final result. David Cameron has won a majority for the Conservatives securing the 326 seats needed for a majority, a victory unseen since 1992. 3 party leaders have now resigned; Farage for UKIP having lost his seat to the Conservatives, Ed Miliband for Labour and Nick Clegg for the Lib Dems. 

Another notable result included Respect MP George Galloway losing his seat to Labour’s Naz Shah in Bradford West. Naz joins a record number of BME MPs entering parliament. 43 BME MPs have been elected equating for 6.6% of the House of Commons in relation to the 14% of the population that they represent. One of these MPs included Tasmina Sheik, Scotland’s first female Muslim MP for SNP. 

In the 2010 elections, the number of BME MPs was only 27. Additionally 30% of MPs are now women up from 23% in the 2010 election. 

David Cameron’s victory means that the Conservatives do not need to build a coalition or form partnerships with other parties. You can see Conservative manifesto commitments on immigration, the EU and human rights here

Useful General Election Websites before the Vote

Journalism Diversity Fund Applications Open