UNHCR accepting nominations for 2013 Nansen Refugee Award

The UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Nansen Refugee Award.

In recognition of the attention that the media brings to refugee issues worldwide, UNHCR is inviting individual members of the press as well as media organizations to nominate candidates. The deadline for nominations is 25th January 2013.

The Nansen Refugee Award was established in 1954 and is named after the first High Commissioner for Refugees, Fridtjof Nansen. It is the refugee world's most prestigious prize.

Past winners have included Eleanor Roosevelt, Senator Edward Kennedy, Luciano Pavarotti, and other less well known heroes – in recognition of their work and dedication to improving the lives of refugees.

Nominations are encouraged for deserving individuals, groups, or organizations whose work has had a direct and positive impact on the lives of refugees, internally displaced, or stateless people.

This year's award went to Hawa Aden Mohamed of Somalia, who has worked tirelessly over several decades to create a safe place for displaced women and girls through community education, peace-building, and development projects.

To nominate a candidate, you need to go to and download the nominations form. Nominations need to include detail of the candidate's work for displaced people and supporting references.

MPs: Migrants backlog “spiralling out of control”

Refugee Council calls for fair, humane and effective asylum system